Faculty of Agricultural and Sciences Technology

Dean: Prof. Dr. Muhammad Ali SI TI

Agricultural potential and specific ecological conditions of the region led to the establishment of Agriculture College of Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan in 1989. The construction of the College building was started in 1990. At present the Faculty has independent academic blocks for Agronomy, Soil Science, Entomology, Plant Pathology, Horticulture, Plant Breeding & Genetics, Forestry & Range Management and Agricultural Engineering, & Institute of Food Science & Nutrition Fully equipped research laboratories have been established by each department for conduct of practical and research work.

A boy’s hostel [Hamza Hall and Ayesha Girls Hostel] of the Faculty has also been constructed.

An Independent Administration Block, Central library, Museum, Central Computer Lab, Auditorium and a Civic Center have been completed and are functional straight away.

At present the Faculty has 63 regular/ full time teachers and a number of visiting teachers borrowed from various departments of the University, Agriculture Departments & Institutes at Multan. Out of 63 regular /full time teachers, these are Ph.D. degree holders; where as three faculty members have M.Phil degree. The PhD teachers have compeleted their PhDs from various universities from Pakistan or technologically advanced countries like, Australia, China, Japan, Korea, UK and USA, having a number of research publications in high Impact Factor bearing journals.

Criteria for Major Subject Allotment of Agriculture

On the recommendation of the Dean, Faculty of Agricultural Sciences & Technology, the Vice Chancellor, in exercise of the powers vested in him under Section 16(3) & 16(3a) of the Bahauddin Zakariya University Act 1975 and amended Act LX of 2012 on behalf of the Academic council/syndicate, has approved the following Policy for Allotment of Major Subjects of B.Sc. (Hons.) Agriculture:

  1. Department of Agronomy
  2. Department of Entomology
  3. Department of Forestry
  4. Department of Horticulture
  5. Department of Plant Breeding & Genetics
  6. Department of Plant Pathology
  7. Department of Soil Science

after completion of 4th semester for the year of 2022 onwardsa. Each Department will have minimum 20 students and not more then 30 students on basis of merit (CGPA) and choice of students (Morning & Evening Programs). The minimum and maximum limit can be adjusted/changed keeping in view the number of admissions in the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences & Technology.

  • Major allotment can be changed with mutual consent basis by depositing fee, i.e. Rs. 10,000/- each student with-in stipulated period.
  • In case the mutual consent is not available, the students can request to change his/her major by depositing fee, i.e. Rs. 100,000/- for morning program and Rs. 150,000/- for evening program for smooth management of faculty affairs.

Experimental/Research Farm

Agricultural Experimental Farm of 40 acres is attached with the Faculty for demonstration of crop production practices, and 20 acres are reserved for faculty research. Research work has been initiated on various aspects of field and horticultural crops. The emphasis is on the development of improved varieties of crop along with improvement of cultural practices, cropping system, weed control, insect toxicology, insecticide resistance, integrated pest management strategies, drip irrigation system, tunnel farming and Agroforestry suited to the local conditions. Nine acres of mango and citrus orchard and five acres of forestry research area with mixed indigenous species have been established under drip irrigation system.

Faculty Library

The Central Library is well established and there are more than six thousand volumes of latest books on various disciplines of agriculture and allied sciences. It has been converted into fully air-conditioned library to facilitate the readers.

The faculty comprises of the following departments:

Sr. No. Department Name Department Head Name
1 Department of Agronomy Prof. Dr. Shakeel Ahamad
2 Department of Agri. Business and Marketing Prof. Dr. Shakeel Ahmad
3 Department of Entomology Prof. Dr. Muhammad Razaq
4 Department of Forestry and Range Management Dr. Ihsan Qadir
5 Department of Horticulture Prof. Dr. Aamir Nawaz
6 Department of Plant Breeding and Genetics Prof. Dr. Waqas Malik
7 Department of Plant Pathology Prof. Dr. Sobia Chohan
8 Department of Soil Science Dr. Muhammad Zafar ul Hye Gondal
9 Department of Agricultural Engineering Prof. Engr. Dr. Muhammad Shoaib
Developed & Maintained by IT Center, Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan (itcenter@bzu.edu.pk). Disclaimer: Data on this website is only for information and can not be used for any legal purpose.