Faculty of Pharmacy

Dean: Prof. Dr. Muhammad Uzair

The Faculty of Pharmacy, Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan owes its origin to the Department of Pharmacy, established in 1976. Initially, it was housed in a rented building but later on it was shifted to a part of a borrowed building at Bosan Road, Multan. The Department shifted to its present premises at the University Campus in 1984.

A three years course for the degree of B.Pharmacy was launched in 1976 which was then replaced by a four year course in 1979 on the recommendations of the University Grants Commission (Now HEC). B.Pharmacy (four year program) has now been replaced by a five year Program of Pharm.D. from the session 2003-2004. The Department after its establishment, gradually strengthened its academic program as a result of which in 1992, it was given the status of a separate Faculty of Pharmacy. The Faculty was re-structured into five departments i.e. Department of Pharmaceutics, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Department of Pharmacology, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Department of Pharmacognosy in October, 2017.

Library Facilities

A collection of around ten thousand books is available in the Faculty library. This collection is in addition to the facility available as through E-Library Internet. An adequate collection of text books, reference books and research journals are available in the library of the Faculty covering various disciplines of Pharmacy, namely Pharmaceutics, Pharmacology, Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Pharmacy Practice and Pharmacognosy. The books are also available to the students from the Book Bank of the University on loan basis.

Industrial Tours

The students during the course of their studies go on industrial tours of various Pharmaceutical industries and laboratories as a part of their practical/professional training. The Faculty has liaison with different employing organization and Pharmaceutical Institutions which facilitate the students seeking employment.

Merit Awards & Scholarships

Three Gold Medals are awarded every year to the students getting first position in M. Phil. One in each Pharmaceutics, Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Pharmacology discipline. Cash awards of Rs.10,000/-, Rs.8000/- and Rs.5000/- are awarded to the Ist. 2nd and 3rd position holders of each professional year students respectively. In addition, HEC Needbase Scholarships are available for students requiring financial support.

Laboratory Facilities

The Department houses modern laboratory facilities and is equipped with the following equipment/instruments:

  • HPLC
  • Power Lab for Pharmacological Studies
  • Rotary Evaporator
  • Fraction Collector
  • Freeze Dryer
  • Filtration Pump
  • Electric Incubators
  • Spectrophotometers (Digital and Electronic)
  • Rotary Compression Machine
  • Single Punch Machine
  • Minipress Tablet Machine
  • Disintegrator
  • Dissolution Apparatus
  • FTIR
  • Homogenizer
  • Trinocular Microscope with Camera LED
  • PCR

Computer Lab

The Faculty of Pharmacy also houses an air-conditioned Computer Laboratory having 50 Core I-5 systems connected with the University Local Area Network. This laboratory has been established not only to provide basic computer training to the students under University Computer Literacy Program but also to meet the requirements of research Programmes of the Faculty.

Animal House

An Animal House facility has been established in compliance with guidelines proposed by International Organizations. The facility currently has air-conditioned rooms for the experimental animals (Sprague Dawley Rats, Balb/C Mice, New Zelander Rabbits). These animals are meant for the experiments to be performed by Pharm.D. students and M.Phil./ Ph.D. research students. The following Committee look after affairs and maintanance of the Animal House.

The faculty comprises of the following departments:

Sr. No. Department Name Department Head Name
1 Department of Pharmaceutics Prof. Dr. Muhammad Sohail Arshad
2 Department of Pharmacy Practice Prof. Dr. Muhammad Fawad Rasool
3 Department of Pharmacognosy Dr. Khizar Abbas
4 Department of Pharmacology Dr. Imran Ch
5 Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry Prof. Dr. Samina Afzal
Developed & Maintained by IT Center, Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan (itcenter@bzu.edu.pk). Disclaimer: Data on this website is only for information and can not be used for any legal purpose.