Institute of Chemical Sciences

Head of Department: Prof. Dr. M. Najam ul Haq

Departmental News, Media & Upcoming Events
Public Defense of PhD Chemistry Thesis
Annual Meeting ZACHO 2024
Student of ICS Ambassador of Pakistan
Updates about ZACHO annual Meeting 2024


  Prof. Dr. M. Najam ul Haq Professor
  Prof. Dr. Muhammad Yaqub Professor
  Prof. Dr. Ghazala Yasmeen Professor
  Prof. Dr. Mazhar Hussain Professor
  Prof. Dr. Zahid Shafiq Professor
  Prof. Dr. Muhammad Naeem Ashiq Professor
  Dr. Farzana Mahmood Associate Professor
  Dr. Surryia Manzoor Associate Professor
  Dr. Saadat Majeed Associate Professor
  Dr. Naseem Abbas Associate Professor
  Dr. Muhammad Tariq Associate Professor
  Dr. Khalid Mahmood Associate Professor
  Dr. Ajaz Hussain Associate Professor
  Dr. Adeel Hussain Chughtai Associate Professor
  Dr. Muhammad Mahboob Ahmad Assistant Professor
  Dr. Muhammad Sajid Assistant Professor
  Engr. Muhammad Ashraf Assistant Professor
  Dr. Asma Naz Assistant Professor
  Dr. Muhammad Ali Assistant Professor
  Dr. Hafiz Muhammad Asif Assistant Professor
  Dr. Saghir Hussain Assistant Professor
  Dr. Muhammad Rehan Hasan Assistant Professor
  Dr. Fahmida Jabeen Assistant Professor
  Dr. Naeem Akhtar Assistant Professor


The Department of Chemistry was established in 1975, which in 2012 was upgraded to the status of Institute of Chemical Sciences. It offers BS (4-Year), M.Sc., M. Phil. / MS (Evening) M.Phil./ MS (Weekend) and Ph.D. programs of studies. It has highly qualified faculty with diversified research interests. Most research programs / projects run by the faculty are funded by various national / international agencies. It also shares its research activities with different national / international organisations through collaborative programs. The Institute has five Divisions:

  1. Analytical Chemistry Division
  2. Applied Chemistry Division
  3. Inorganic Chemistry Division
  4. Organic Chemistry Division
  5. Physical Chemistry Division

The Institute houses different teaching/research laboratories equipped with the following equipment/instruments:

  • UV-Visible Spectrophotometer
  • FT-IR Spectrophotometer
  • GC-MS
  • Atomic Absorption Spectrophotometer
  • Gas Chromatograph
  • HPLC
  • Elemental Analyzer
  • Thermal Analyzer
  • Digital Density Meter
  • Ultra-centrifuge Machine
  • Magnetic Susceptibility Meter
  • Cyclo Voltametry

The Institute has a library containing more than seven thousand books. A number of research journals and periodicals are also available.

The Institute has an excellent record of making contribution towards Human Resource Development by providing trained persons to Education, Industry and R & D Sectors through its active coordination with various organizations.

Programs Offered

The following programs are being offered:

BS (4-Year) (Morning & Evening),

Undergraduate Program
Intermediate examination (Pre-Medical or Pre- Engineering) or an equivalent examination recognised by the University with Chemistry as an elective

Merit Determination:

F.Sc Part 1st marks and Chemistry marks

BS(2-years) ( Morning/Evening)

BS (5th Semester) Program

M. Phil Program (Evening/Weekend)

Graduate (MS) Program
BS (4-Year) or M.Sc. Chemistry with specialization in the relevant field.

Ph.D. Program

Graduate (PhD) Program
As per HEC policy.

Merit Determination:

Developed & Maintained by IT Center, Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan ( Disclaimer: Data on this website is only for information and can not be used for any legal purpose.