B. Z. University Sub-Campus Lodhran

Campus Director: Dr. Muhammad Shabbir Chaudhry

Lodhran is a city about 80 km away in the southern side of Multan and is the headquarter of District in the Punjab Province of Pakistan.

The city is located on the northern side of river Satluj. In its north, the Districts of Multan and Khanewal are located while in its East side is neighbored by Vehari whereas Bahawalpur is on its southern side and West side is bordered by Jalalpur Peer Wala (District Multan). District Lodhran is spread over an area of 1,790 square kilometers comprising of following three Tehsils: Lodhran, Dunyapur and Kahror Pakka. Lodhran was made District Headquarter on 1st July 1991; by the Government of Punjab vide Notification No.(30-06-91) 565-91/490 Ros-SO-II, while its town committee was upgraded in 1992 vide Notification No. SO-V/LG 535/91.

The District was the hometown and political arena to Muhammad Siddique Khan Kanju, (Ex-Minister of State for Foreign Affairs) during Nawaz Sharif’s government in 1990. It was due to his initiative that Lodhran was made a District in 1991.

In the same year, when Tehsil Lodhran was upgraded as a District, it had 436 villages or Mauzas, 14 more were included in the district in 1992 by detaching them from Tehsil Jalal PurPirwala (District Multan), through the orders of Punjab Government No. 180-92/C- 65/703 SO-II dated 25-06-1992. Being a District Headquarter, it was divided into three Tehsil. Now, the prestigious Lodhran District comprises of 3 tehsil and 73 union councils, of which 11 are urban and 62, are rural UCs. The height of the District Lodhran from the sea level is about 380 feet. The District Lodhran is laying between the river Satluj and the Bias. The city’s location makes it strategically important in Southern Punjab yet it is still considered as under developed in terms of administrative and commercial affairs. It is one of the central cities which connect Punjab to Sindh. Railway double track was initially started from Lodhran to Karachi but now it was extended to Lahore.


The weather conditions of the region are severe. Summer in Lodhran remains very hot; however, the weather becomes much more pleasant during October to February. The district has dozens of cotton processing factories and cottonseed oil manufacturing plants. Agricultural products include mangoes in the summer and Guava and other citrus fruits in the winter.

Education in Lodhran

Lodhran City had no University Campuses and only two colleges both for men. The Lodhran city has many higher secondary schools and private colleges. Sensing the dire need of quality education in the District, Bahauddin Zakariya University’s Sub Campus at Lodhran was announced by the Honorable Chief Minister of Punjab on 11th of November, 2017. This Campus will serve the Lodhran District area and out of District Area in future to produce skilled and professional people (INSHA ALLAH).

Lodhran Campus

The Bahauddin Zakariya University (BZU) Decided to set up a Sub-Campus in Lodhran district. The Worthy Vice Chancellor Prof. Dr. Tahir Ameen constituted a committee to make arrangements for setting up the sub-campus which would be led by Prof. Dr. Hakoomat Ali. Chairing a meeting held in connection with the Lodhran Sub-Campus, the VC proclaimed that the decision to establish another Sub-Campus would be a strong evidence of the BZU’s endeavours to offer higher education to the residents of all small and big cities located around Multan. He further addressed that the BZU had been playing a leading role in the promotion of literacy in South Punjab. Citing examples of other Sub-Campuses, he exclaimed that the BZU established its Sub-Campuses in Dera Ghazi Khan, Sahiwal, Layyah and Vehari out of which Dera Ghazi Khan and Sahiwal Campuses progressed and became full Universities. Speaking on the occasion, the then Deputy Commissioner Lodhran, Rana Khurram Shahzad said that a spacious building of the postgraduate block in Degree College for boys, Lodhran would be allocated for the Sub-Campus. He added that all the sincere efforts would be made to construct SubCampus’s own building. “We’ll demand funds from both federal and provincial governments for this purpose,” he declared. Earlier, Director Finance of BZU, Sohaib Rashid Khan briefed the participants of the meeting on previous experiences relating to the Sub-Campuses. The meeting was attended among others by Chairman District Council Lodhran Mian Rajan Sultan Pirzada and concerned officers of BZU Multan.

The faculty comprises of the following departments:

Sr. No. Department Name Department Head Name
1 Department of English (Sub-Campus Lodhran) Dr. Muhammad Shabbir Chaudhry
2 Department of Information Technology (Sub-Campus Lodhran) Dr. Muhammad Shabbir Chaudhry
3 Department of Public Administration (Sub-Campus Lodhran) Dr. Muhammad Shabbir Chaudhry
4 Department of Sociology (Sub-Campus Lodhran) Dr. Muhammad Shabbir Chaudhry
Developed & Maintained by IT Center, Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan (itcenter@bzu.edu.pk). Disclaimer: Data on this website is only for information and can not be used for any legal purpose.