Department of Urdu

Head of Department: Dr. Farzana Koukab


  Dr. Farzana Koukab Associate Professor
  Dr. Muhammad Khawar Nawazish Associate Professor
  Dr. Muhammad Asif Associate Professor
  Dr. Zafar Hussain Associate Professor
  Dr. Shazia Umbreen Assistant Professor
  Dr. Hammad Rasool Assistant Professor


The Department was established concurrently with the University in 1975, when post-graduate classes of M.A Urdu in Government College, Multan were shifted to the University. The University Department thus not only inherited the class but also the bright tradition of the parent Department. Syed Iftikhar Hussain Shah was the founder Chairman of the Deptt., whereas Prof. Dr. Kh. Muhammad Zakariya, Prof. Dr. AB Ashraf, Prof. Dr. Anwaar Ahmad, Prof. Dr. Najeeb Jamal, Prof. Dr. Abdul Rauf Sheikh (Late), Prof. Dr. Rubina Tareen and Prof. Dr. Aqeela Bashir, Prof. Dr. Qazi Abid have also remained Heads of this Department. Renowned scholars, Prof. Khalil Siddiqui, Dr. Shamim Haider Trimizi, Dr. Aslam Ansari and Dr. Naimat-ul-Haq have been associated with the Department as visiting faculty. Two of our faculty members Dr. Qazi Abid and Dr. Muhammad Asif have completed their postdoc from the University of Heidelberg Germany and Osaka University Japan respectively. Three of the Department’s prominent students, Dr Aslam Adeeb, Dr. Farooq Mashhadi and Dr. Saleem Haidrani have earned Quaid-e-Azam scholarship and obtained Ph.D. degrees from U.K.

Seventy Nine scholars have obtained their Ph.D. degrees from this Department. At present eleven scholars have submitted their dissertations and Thirty Nine scholars are registered for Ph.D degree. There have been 8 Indigenous Scholars registered from (HEC) till now, seven of them have been awarded Ph.D degree. The department has signed an MOU with Osaka University Japan for academic collaboration. In 2016, the Department has introduced two languages courses for foreign students. Till this time two students from Japan, one student from Ankara University and one student from Egypt have earned these certificates.

The Department offers facilities for B.S., M.A., M. Phil and Ph.D. programs. Regular M.Phil Program was started from the academic session 1992-93. Till the last year, 441 students have obtained M.Phil Degrees. In 2005, a Certificate Course for modern spoken Persian was also started. Forty students got admission and successfully completed the course.

The students of this Department are serving as Teachers in National International Universities / Colleges in Pakistan and abroad as well, talent of several is being utilized in media as well.

Programs Offered

The following programs are being offered:

BS (Morning/Evening)

Undergraduate Program
F.A./F.Sc. with 2 nd Division

M.A Urdu Program

Graduate (MS) Program
B.A/B.Sc/ADA/ADS/ADP or Equivalent

M.Phil Program

Graduate (PhD) Program
See the prescribed admission rules for M.Phil.

Ph.D Program

Graduate (PhD) Program
i- Matriculation with Certificate in the target language OR Equivalent is required for Diploma Course in Urdu ii- Intermediate with Diploma in Urdu or Equivalent is required for Advanced Diploma Course in Urdu
Developed & Maintained by IT Center, Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan ( Disclaimer: Data on this website is only for information and can not be used for any legal purpose.